We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

Members of the Commission

The Commission for Developing Scotland’s Young Workforce was established by the Scottish Government in January 2013 and is chaired by Sir Ian Wood. The Commission was tasked with bringing forward a range of recommendations designed to improve young people’s transition into employment, and comprises people with a breadth of expertise covering business, further education, schools, trade unions and HR management. Membership was:

  • Sir Ian Wood - The former Chair of the Wood Group, Sir Ian Chairs the Commission and has a wealth of experience having developed the Wood Group into a global business from 1967 onward. He is currently Chancellor of Robert Gordon University, a post he has held since 2004.
  • Linda McKay – Former Principal of Forth Valley College. Linda has a long career working with Scotland’s college sector and has previously served on the joint Scottish Funding Council Skills Committee as well as being a member of the Scottish Enterprise East Advisory Board.
  • Lord Haughey – Managing Director of City Refrigeration Holdings. Lord Haughey's company has grown to become one of the biggest privately owned facilities management companies in Europe. As a major employer Lord Haughey is well placed to comment on the work readiness of graduates and school leavers.
  • Michael Davis – Chief Executive of the UK Commission for Employment and Skills. Michael has an extensive knowledge of the labour markets in Europe as well as Scotland and is well positioned to comment on the UK Government’s policy in this area.
  • Grahame Smith – General Secretary of the STUC. Graham is also a member of the joint Skills Committee of the Scottish Funding Council and Skills Development Scotland and has a vast knowledge of the skills sector.
  • Christine Pollock - Former Executive Director of Learning and Leisure for North Lanarkshire Council. Christine is a member of several national advisory groups providing professional advice to the Scottish Minister for Education on areas such as The National Induction Programme for new teachers and the Workforce Development Committee for Teachers.
  • Sue Bruce – Chief Executive of Edinburgh City Council. Sue will bring a wealth of experience to the Commission and will offer an insight into the local authorities work on schools. Since joining Edinburgh City Council in 2011, Sue has been a key player in the Edinburgh Guarantee, an initiative to encourage businesses in the capital to take on young people, to give them work experience, placements, mentoring, internships and a real job.
  • Robin Parker – Former President of NUS Scotland. Robin will provide an invaluable and important perspective to the Commission in articulating the views of young people. He previously served two terms as President of Aberdeen University Students' Association and was a member of the National Union of Students' National Executive Council and NUS Scotland's Executive Council.
  • Sylvia Halkerston - Formerly HR Director at Macphie of Glenbervie for over 20 years, and since retiring is now a Consultant and Non- executive Director. Sylvia brings an extensive knowledge of HR management gleaned from a career spanning 35 years from across a number of sectors including oil and gas, hospitality, construction, public transport and food and drink. Sylvia’s current roles include membership of the joint Skills Committee of the Scottish Funding Council and Skills Development Scotland.