We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

Content notice

This content is no longer being updated. Get up-to-date information on what the Scottish Government is doing to support economic growth at https://beta.gov.scot/


Where are Scotland's Enterprise Areas?

Scotland’s four Enterprise Areas are sectorally focused and currently comprise 16 strategic locations across the country.  The Programme for Government 2015-16 highlighted the intention to work with partners to establish a Enterprise Area site at BioCity in North Lanarkshire. 

The individual locations which make up each Enterprise Area are highlighted on this map and are:

Life Sciences Enterprise Area

  • Irvine (North Ayrshire)
  • Forres Enterprise Park (Highland)
  • BioQuarter (Edinburgh)
  • Inverness Campus (Highland)
  • Biocampus (Midlothian)
  • BioCity (North Lanarkshire)

Low Carbon / Renewables North Enterprise Area

  • Nigg (Highland)
  • Hatston (Orkney)
  • Scrabster (Highland)
  • Arnish (Western Isles)
  • Lyness (Orkney)

Low Carbon / Renewables East Enterprise Area

  • Dundee Port (Dundee)
  • Leith Port (Edinburgh)

General Manufacturing / Growth Sectors Enterprise Area

  • Creative Clyde (Glasgow) – Creative Industries
  • Prestwick (South Ayrshire) – Aerospace
  • West Lothian (Broxburn) - Food and drink manufacturing
  • West Lothian (Livingston) - Food and Drink manufacturing

Enterprise Area incentives will apply to the parts of the wider site which can be developed and occupied by businesses within the policy’s five year timeframe and where the characteristics of the site create strong opportunities for the targeted growth sector. Maps indicating the site boundaries for each Enterprise Area location are available under the Business Rates Discounts or Enhanced Capital Allowances sections below.

Further information on each site and its facilities can be found through the information provided by SDI to promote and market Enterprise Areas to potential international investors.