We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

Beta link

This content is not being updated. Get up-to-date information on the Convention of the Highlands and Islands from https://beta.gov.scot/.


Convention Members are appointed by the First Minister and chosen from public agencies and institutions with responsibilities for, or interests in, the economic and social development of the Highlands and Islands. 

Members of the Convention are expected to attend each meeting, with substitutes permitted should they be unable to.

The core membership includes the following organistions, with additional members attending specific meetings as agenda items dictate:


Argyll and Bute Council

NHS Western Isles

Bord Na Gaidhlig

North Ayrshire Council

Cairngorm National Park Authority

Orkney Islands Council

Crofters Commission

Scottish Natural Heritage

Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar

Shetland Islands Council

Forestry Commission

Skills Development Scotland

Highlands and Islands Enterprise

Scottish Funding Council

Moray Council The Highland Council

NHS Highland


NHS Orkney

Visit Scotland

NHS Shetland