We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

Content notice

The content on these pages is not being updated. Get up-to-date information on the Scottish Government's building, planning and design policies on https://beta.gov.scot

Roles within planning

  • Scottish Government

    Planning and Architecture Division is part of Directorate for Local Government and Communities. The Division is headed by the Chief Planner, John McNairney.

  • Planning Authorities

    Primary responsibility for the delivery of the planning service in Scotland lies with the 32 local authorities and the 2 national park authorities.

  • Agencies

    Key Agencies Group comprises a ‘core’ group of agencies (A+DS, Historic Scotland, SEPA, SNH, Scottish Water and Transport Scotland, and more recently Scottish Enterprise).

  • Applicant

    E-planning provides a simpler, faster and more accessible planning system for applicants.

  • Community involvement

    Communities, community organisations and members of the public