We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

language redirect

This content is not being updated. Get up-to-date information on the Scottish Government's language policies on https://beta.gov.scot .

Legislation (Lagh-thabhartas)

Gaelic version (Duilleagan Gàidhlig)

Gaelic Language ( Scotland ) Act 2005

The Gaelic Language (Scotland) Bill was introduced to Parliament on 24 September 2004. The Bill was considered in detail by Parliament's Education Committee and was passed, unopposed, on 21 April 2005. The Bill's progress through Parliament is recorded on the Scottish Parliament website.

The Gaelic Language (Scotland) Act 2005 received Royal Assent on 1 June 2005.

European Charter for regional or minority languages

The European Charter for Regional or Minority Languages was drawn up in 1992 by the Council of Europe to help protect and promote Europe's lesser used languages. The UK Government signed the Charter in 2000 and ratified it in 2001 in respect of Wales in Wales, Scots and Gaelic in Scotland and Ulster Scots and Irish in Northern Ireland. Manx Gaelic and Cornish were subsequently added.

The provisions of Part 2 of the Charter (general principles and objectives to be pursued with respect to regional or minority languages) apply to all of the languages listed above. In addition, specific provisions of Part 3 (measures to promote the use of regional or minority languages) apply to Welsh, Gaelic and Irish.

The Scottish Government, through the UK's undertakings in relation to Gaelic, is committed to applying 39 measures out of a total of 65, in the areas of education, court proceedings, local administration, media, culture, economic and social life and transformer exchanges.