We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

Environment Group Research Report 2005/04 - Continuing the Dialogue on Radioactive Waste Management: Engaging Young Scotland Innovatively



We would like to thank all those who contributed to this study, particularly the young people who gave up their valuable time to participate in the focus groups. We would also like to thank participants in the semi-structured interviews and those who assisted us in developing the tools.

We are grateful to the following in particular for their assistance and support with this study: -

Helen Berry, Edinburgh Youth Social Inclusion Partnership
Gavin Clark, Dunbar Grammar School
Ben Craven, Glasgow Science Centre
Caroline Davies, East Lothian Dialogue Youth
Jon Davies, Glasgow Science Centre
Callum Duncan, Scottish Youth Parliament
Deirdre Elrick, Scottish Council Foundation
Nuala Gormley, Scottish Executive, Civic Participation and Consultation Research Branch
Gillian Harrow, Save the Children, Scotland
Lydia Howland, DEMOS
Don Ledingham, Dunbar Grammar School
Marcus Liddle, Young Scot Enterprise
John MacGill, Grayling, Scotland
Jan McGlaughlin, North Lanarkshire Youth Council
Mike O'Donohue, Lancaster University
Chris Quigley, DELIB.
Claire Sharp, North Lanarkshire Youth Council
Perry Walker, New Economics Foundation
Jill Wight, Dunbar Grammar School

We also wish to thank each member of the Advisory Group, who provided helpful comments on the study.

Elizabeth Atherton, Nirex
Emma Burns, Highland Youth Voice
Kerrie Campbell, Scottish Executive, Environmental and Rural Affairs Department
Elizabeth Gray, Scottish Executive, Environmental and Rural Affairs Department
Gerry Hendricks, Scottish Executive, eGovernment Policy Manager
Finlay Murray, Highland Youth Voice
Beth Taylor, UKAEA
Mark Wells, SEPA Education Officer

We could not have achieved our objectives without the invaluable support of the young people who participated in the 3 focus groups held in North Lanarkshire, Edinburgh and East Lothian. They were: Adam, Audry, Calum, Claire, Daren, Elaine, Emma, Finlay, Gillian, Jenny, Judith, Louise, Marie, Marie Clare, Matt, Neil, Rebecca, Robert, Rosemary, Rosie, Sean, Shona, Shona, Sobea, Stefan, and Steve.

The views expressed in this report are those of the researcher and do not necessarily represent those of the Department or Scottish Ministers.

The International Teledemocracy Centre is part of the Faculty of Computing and Engineering at Napier University, and was set up in 1999 in partnership with BT Scotland. It researches and develops advanced information and communication technologies, to enhance and support democratic decision-making.