NHS 24


Cabinet Secretary for Health, Wellbeing and Cities Strategy, Nicola Sturgeon, today announced the re-appointment of three members to NHS 24.

The members are:

Kay Blair is a former Business journalist, who now owns and manages the Edinburgh based marketing and communications consultancy, Business Perceptions. She is also chair of the Scottish Housing Regulator, Vice Chair of the Financial Services Consumer panel and a consumer advisor to European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA). A fellow of the Chartered Institute of Marketing and an experienced business journalist, Kay is a former member of the Scottish Consumer Council and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain and a past non-executive Director of the Scottish Ambulance Service, the Scottish Legal Aid Board and the court of St Andrews University. Kay brings to NHS 24 significant business, financial and communications expertise, together with board level experience in the health and legal sectors.

Martin Hill is an experienced senior manager and leader in the health sector, having been Chief Executive of two NHS Trusts and Deputy Chief Executive of a large Health Board. His more recent experience is in management consultancy, with particular interests in strategy and organisational development and performance. He is currently Secretary of the Institute of Healthcare Management in Scotland. Martin also has experience in social work and the voluntary sector, having been a Member of the 21st Century Review of Social Work in Scotland; has held non-executive positions on charity bodies; and was a member of Renfrewshire Children's Panel. He has been a member of NHS 24 for the past four years, where he is currently the Chair of the eHealth Committee. Martin brings to the role his wide non-executive experience, knowledge of the health and voluntary sectors and his great commitment to the work of the NHS 24 Board.

Anne Jarvie has had a career in nursing and has served as Chief Nursing Officer for Scotland from 1992 until she retired in 2004. Since appointment to the Board of NHS 24 Anne has chaired three of the Board Governance committee's and is currently Chair of the Clinical Governance Committee. She is also Chair of Glasgow Council for the voluntary sector (GCVS), Chair of the Queen's nursing Institute Scotland and a member of the Marie Curie Scottish Nursing Board. Anne brings to NHS 24 her valuable clinical experience as well as extensive knowledge and experience of the health, education and charitable sectors.

These re-appointments will be for four years and will run from December 1, 2011 to November 30, 2015.

These posts are part-time and attract a remuneration of £8,008 for a time commitment of eight hours per week.

Kay Blair currently holds another Ministerial Appointment as Chair of the Scottish Housing Regulator and receives a daily fee of £193 for a time commitment of two days per week.

Martin Hill and Anne Jarvie do not hold any other Ministerial Appointments.

The NHS 24 delivers a range of national telehealth and online services; they asses patients' symptoms and refer patients to the most appropriate healthcare professional within an appropriate timescale, based on clinical need. NHS 24 also work in partnership with local health services provided by NHS Boards, NHS staff organisations and local communities through integration with other parts of the NHS, particularly, the Primary Care Out-of-Hours Services provided by NHS Boards throughout Scotland, the Scottish Ambulance Service and the Acute Hospitals' Accident and Emergency Departments. The NHS 24 also support the health improvement agenda across Scotland by working in partnership with local Boards to provide added value services where and when required, utilising the IT telephony and infrastructure to benefit patients 24 hours a day.

These Ministerial public re-appointments were made in accordance with the code of practice published by the Public Appointments Commissioner for Scotland.

All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees' political activity within the last 5 years (if there is any to be declared) to be made public. Kay Blair, Martin Hill and Anne Jarvie have not been involved in any political activity.