Pay deal for teachers


A three year pay deal for Scotland's teachers has been agreed by the Scottish Negotiating Committee for Teachers.

The deal is worth over 7 per cent over three years and is made up of 2.25 per cent for 2008-09, 2.5 per cent for 2009-10 and 2.4 per cent 2010-11.

Education Secretary Fiona Hyslop said:

"I am very pleased that we have reached this agreement. This is a fair deal with real benefits for pupils, teachers and schools throughout Scotland. It will provide stability over 3 years and will allow us all to focus on improving educational outcomes for our children over that period. It demonstrates the benefits of close partnership working and our commitment to improving the lives of Scotland's children."

Councillor Isabel Hutton, COSLA spokesperson for Education Children and Young People, said:

"This three-year settlement brings stability to education in Scotland. It represents a good deal for Scottish education, for Scottish local government and for Scottish teachers.

"We are clear that the deal protects the value of teachers' salaries in the context of the financial settlement for local government. It will allow the profession to work towards delivering even better educational outcomes for our children."

Malcolm Maciver, Teacher's side Joint Chair, said:

"In the context of a tight financial settlement for Scottish local authorities this pay award provides stability for Scotland's teachers. The negotiations were very difficult given the economic situation but it was the desire of all parties to agree a fair settlement. At a time of change in Scottish education teachers, local authorities and the Scottish Government have much to benefit from the certainty this deals brings and the continuation of positive industrial relations."

The Scottish Negotiating Committee for Teachers is made up of representatives from the Scottish Government, COSLA and main teaching unions.

The committee has 22 members - three from the Scottish Government, eight from COSLA, eight from the EIS, two from the SSTA and one rotated between the NASUWT and Professional Association of Teachers on an annual basis.