We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

Content notice

Content notice

The content on these pages is not being updated. Up-to-date information can be found at http://beta.gov.scot/. The new site is a work in progress and we need your feedback.


Alex Salmond MSP was appointed First Minister after the Scottish Parliament election in May 2011. 

Mr Salmond resigned as First Minister in September 2014 to be replaced by his deputy Nicola Sturgeon MSP.

Ms Sturgeon had served in the administration as Deputy First Minister and also Cabinet Secretary for Health and Wellbeing until September 2012, then Cabinet Secretary for Infrastructure, Investment and Cities with responsibility for government strategy and constitution.

Other Cabinet members:

Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Finance, Constitution and Economy - John Swinney MSP

Cabinet Secretary for Culture, Europe and External Affairs – Fiona Hyslop MSP

Cabinet Secretary for Social Justice, Communities and Pensioners’ Rights – Alex Neil MSP

Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs, Food and Environment – Richard Lochhead MSP

Cabinet Secretary for Fair Work, Skills and Training – Roseanna Cunningham MSP

Cabinet Secretary for Education and Lifelong Learning - Angela Constance MSP

Cabinet Secretary for Infrastructure, Investment and Cities – Keith Brown MSP

Cabinet Secretary for Health, Wellbeing and Sport – Shona Robison MSP

Cabinet Secretary for Justice – Michael Matheson MSP

Law Officers

Lord Advocate - Frank Mulholland

Solicitor General - Lesley Thomson


Legislation enacted during the 2011-2016 Parliamentary term View full list of Acts