We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

Content notice

Content notice

The content on these pages is not being updated. Up-to-date information can be found at http://beta.gov.scot/. The new site is a work in progress and we need your feedback.


The elections for the fourth term of the Scottish Parliament took place on May 5, 2011. The SNP won a majority of the 129 seats and on May 18 Alex Salmond MSP was re-elected First Minister by MSPs.

In November 2014, Nicola Sturgeon MSP succeeded Alex Salmond to become First Minister.

Ministers in the new administration

There are nine Cabinet Secretaries (Cabinet Ministers) including the First Minister and 10 Ministers who report to a Cabinet Secretary.

Including the two Law Officers (Lord Advocate and Solicitor General for Scotland), this makes a total of 21 Ministers.

Cabinet Portfolios

The new administration has nine Cabinet portfolios:

  • First Minister
  • Finance, Employment and Sustainable Growth
  • Health, Wellbeing and Cities Strategy
  • Education and Lifelong Learning
  • Justice
  • Rural Affairs and Environment
  • Culture and External Affairs
  • Parliamentary Business and Government Strategy
  • Infrastructure and Capital Investment